– Schools & School Board Information

Gaston County School Contacts

The Gaston County School system is governed by a nine-member board elected on a nonpartisan, countywide basis with seven members chosen from six townships and two members elected at-large.The board meets for its regular meeting at 7 p.m. on the third Monday of each month at the Central Administrative Center, 943 Osceola St., Gastonia. Work sessions, also open to the public, are 6 p.m. the first Monday of the month.

To speak to the board about an agenda item, call the Communications Department at 704-866-6118 or 704-866-6117. Citizens may place an item on the board’s agenda by submitting a written request to the superintendent’s office at the address listed above at least 10 days before a regular monthly meeting.

Board Members


David Phillips, South Point township, 704-825-2989.


Annette Carter, Board Chair: Dallas township, 704-922-8169.


William Marcus Upchurch, Sr. Chairman: (704) 435-4431,
Cherryville Township,
Term: 2008-2012


Kevin Collier: Riverbend township, 704-827-4849.


Alfred Current: (704) 718-0951, Gastonia township,


Kenneth Lutz Jr.: Crowders Mountain township, 704-867-3352.

Jeff Ramsey, (704) 823-8596 At-Large Member Term: 2008-2012





Kaye H. Gribble,  (704) 922-7335




Central Administration

Reeves McGlohon, superintendent, appointed by the board of education, is responsible for the administration of the school system.

Lory Morrow, deputy superintendent for instruction, responsible for elementary and secondary education; middle and senior high school education; Exceptional Children; instructional support and workforce development.

Jeff Booker, deputy superintendent for operations, responsible for human resources; business services (finance); auxiliary services including maintenance, transportation and nutrition and student services, including security, partnerships and athletics.

Mark Hollar, assistant superintendent for secondary education, works directly with school principals to assure orderly and efficient operation of high schools, middle schools and alternative schools.

Dixie Abernathy, assistant superintendent for elementary education, works with school principals to ensure orderly and efficient operation of elementary schools.

Bonnie Reidy, director of communications at Gaston County Schools.

If you have any school-related questions, call Reidy at 704-866-6118.

Central Offices

Administrative Office: 943 Osceola Ave., Gastonia. P.O. Box 1397, Gastonia, NC 28053. 704-866-6100.

Division of Resource Management/Human Resources: 1351 Bradford Heights Road, Gastonia. 704-866-6129.

School Nutrition Services: 500 Reid St., Lowell. 704-824-8423.

Teacher Resource Center and Media Services: 366 W. Garrison Blvd., Gastonia. 704-866-6174.

Department of Exceptional Children: 730 Garrison Blvd., Gastonia. 704-866-6160.

Transportation Department: 945 Osceola St., Gastonia. 704-866-6180.


%d bloggers like this: